Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 29th, 2007

How Not to Write a Blog…

So I’m going to try to be a bit more faithful about updating this blog. Expect a new entry every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, with a new homestead snapshot uploaded every Saturday. We keep making mistakes so I’m definitely not lacking in material!

The format of each post will be as follows:

Monday – Review of Book, Website, Article or other bit of media related to homesteading

Wednesday – Farm Update: how the garden’s growing, how the chickens are crowing

Friday- Honest to Goodness “How Not to Homestead” entry, how not to weed, how not to fix a fence, how not to talk to the neighboors 😉

Saturday- Bonus Photo Blog – a good old-time homestead snapshot from the farm.

I hope you will all enjoy these changes. They should make it easier to follow our flailing failing farm!

Read Full Post »

Last week as Midori and I watch the chickens squabble over kitchen scraps, I heard footsteps up the drive behind me.   My parents were gone grocery shopping and my husband was at work, could they have come back already?  I whirled around to see a man walking around the driveway scoping out our outbuildings.  I hid Midori in her stroller in a clump of sassafras saplings, praying under my breath that she’d be content to watch the chickens and wouldn’t start to cry.  As I walked up the path from the chicken house I imagined all sorts of horrible things, why was this person here?  Was he going to try and rob me, rape me?  I could see the man more clearly now; he was tall and slightly overweight, middle aged and shabby looking.  I remembered the oak walking stick Stuart left by the Siberian Elm tree to dry.  I knew if he made a move I’d go for it.  I doubt I could fight him off, but I wouldn’t go down easy.

(more…)

Read Full Post »